Community Caring

From Knowledge to Heritage

We care about Hong Kong just as much as we do to education, it is the right way to pass our wisdom and experience to the next generation. Therefore, we create high quality educational resources with care and professionalism. We have a well-established business network which allows us to provide the latest education model. In order to strike for perfection, we take a proactive role with the development of our three main businesses (i.e. education, publication and retail). Great reputation was earned, and we became the leading educational group. Our goal is to create an educational base infused with innovation that can pass down our wisdom and culture.

OUR MISSION

Being rooted in Hong Kong for over 7 decades, POPULAR has been devoted to providing educational services with the best quality for students in Hong Kong. The main business scope of the Group includes education, publication and relevant retail businesses.

The Group publishes high quality educational materials, supplementary workbooks, exam practices, e-books, educational platform resources and various kinds of books for teachers and students, in order to stimulate students to have an all-rounded development. Relying on our profound knowledge in the publication business in Hong Kong, the Group expanded our business to the learning centre service industry. With the extensive educational resources, we implement an up-to-date electronic education model to focus on promoting the learning efficiency of students in Hong Kong.

Recently, we took initiative to develop an electronic retail platform, hoping to pass down our culture and knowledge. Furthermore, we would like to raise the standard of educational services by introducing innovations to the education industry. So that we can explore our future alongside with students in Hong Kong.

MILESTONE

1949

World Publishing Company ("World") was incorporated. In its early years, the company’s main business was supplying Chinese books to the Southeast Asian market. In the late fifties, World set up its publishing department at 3/F, 60 Connaught Road Central, publishing lifestyle magazines, children’s magazines, and Chinese books.

1950

Educational Publishing House (‘EPH’) was established, it focused on publishing pre-school and primary educational materials, children’s books, exam practice materials for primary and secondary schools, supplementary workbooks for pre-school and primary levels, as well as summer vacation workbooks. In 1960, EPH was registered as a limited company.

Seashore Publishing Company (‘Seashore’) was set up at 4/F, 56 Connaught Road, Central. The first series produced were the Seashore Stories Series, which ushered in the new trend of romance novels.

In 1960, Seashore published the fortnightly Ladies & Home, which became the most popular women’s magazine in Hong Kong and Southeast Asia. The achieving sales was over 100,000 copies per issue at its peak.

1961

Yuk Choi Bookstore was set up, and has since become the sole agent for all EPH publications.

1963

World began the fortnightly Good Children’s Pictorial for primary school children, featuring rich and colourful content. It included a ‘Reader’s Corner’, which encouraged young readers to submit their creative writing.

1970

POPULAR Hong Kong acquired the Harris Book Company Ltd ("Harris"), which operated at Shop 115 in the Prince’s Building selling English books. In 1983, another Harris bookstore was opened at Shop 110, and this store also sold stationery.

1973

In 1973, Seashore cooperated with TVE (Holdings) Limited to publish the first Chinese colour cookbook in Hong Kong - 珍饈百味 , which its sales volume reached 100,000 copies per journal.

1974

POPULAR’s first bookstore in Hong Kong, World Publishing Company, mainly selling educational textbooks, was opened at 24 Percival Street, Causeway Bay. Two years later, the bookstore was relocated to Shop 120.

1976

Kam Pui Enterprises Limited ("Kam Pui") was established. World and Seashore became the publishing and distribution brands of Kam Pui. In the mid-seventies, World and Seashore continued to publish numerous books. World’s list included various kinds of leisure and practical books, while Seashore, in addition to the magazine Ladies & Home, focused on cookbooks and horoscope books.

1981

POPULAR Hong Kong’s headquarters moved from Tung Kin Factory Building, Tsat Tsz Mui Road, North Point to its existing premises in the Tsuen Wan Industrial Centre in Texaco Road, Tsuen Wan. At that time, there were only a few dozen employees, with office and warehouse space taking up a totalling of 22,600 square feet. By 2021, the POPULAR Hong Kong staff force in Tsuen Wan had grown to its present size of 500 employees and the total area occupied today stands at 99,000 square feet.

1988

World’s retail outlet was opened in KCRC House, Shatin, and CD Rama, the first division of POPULAR selling music and audio products, was established.

1989

EPH launched the first Kindergarten Resource Package, which was a notable success and gained a seventy percent market share. Over the years, EPH has maintained its position as the market leader for pre-school publications and its current strength can actually be traced back to the early success of the Kindergarten Resource Package.

1990

The pocket books on oral English by World and Seashore’s primary-level supplementary workbook series in Chinese, English and Mathematics, 26 Weeks, became very popular and was the best selling supplementary workbook. It is also a well-received series among schools and parents until now.

POPULAR Hong Kong began publishing books on Metaphysics, horoscopes, and Chinese zodiac under Universal Publishing Company, another Kam Pui's subsidiary.

1991

The retail business expanded to shopping centres in housing estates. The first outlet opened in Oi Man Shopping Centre, Ho Man Tin.

1992

The trade names for all bookstores in Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong were standardised as "POPULAR".

1995

POPULAR Hong Kong opened its first lifestyle mega-bookstore, Book City, in Whampoa Garden, Hunghom. The total area was 44,000 square feet, of which 13,000 square feet became the ‘Gourmet Delite’ food court in December 1996. It was a very revolutionary lifestyle retail concept at that time.

1998

Pan Lloyds Publishers Ltd (‘Pan Lloyds’) was established to publish high-quality supplementary teaching materials and workbooks for Hong Kong and Macau markets.

In 1991, POPULAR Hong Kong began expanding its retail business to shopping centres in housing estates, and had as many as eighteen shops at its peak. In 1998, we placed our footsteps into first-tier shopping mall and our very first store was launched in the New Town Plaza in Shatin. The second one was in Grand Century Place, Mongkok.

2000

EPH Macau was incorporated to publish pre-school and primary teaching materials tailored for schools in Macau. It also took initiative to promote the Group's products to local schools.

Popular e-Learning (HK) Ltd ("PEHK") was set up to support EPH and Pan Lloyds in developing comprehensive e-learning packages for their publications.

2001

In keeping up with new retail trends, POPULAR launched its own online bookshop.

2004

EPH launched two sets of General Studies textbooks, New General Studies and General Studies Today, further affirming EPH’s enviable status in the primary school market.

2005

In 2003, the English Publishing Department of EPH was established officially. EPH launched Step Up and My Pals are Here! English for Hong Kong in 2005. These publications represented EPH’s first foray into the primary English textbook market since the eighties which enabled the company to ultimately become the most prolific primary school textbook publisher in the market.

2006

EPH’s Pre-school Step Up Picture Dictionary was accompanied by the i-Pen, developed by PEHK. The i-Pen allows readers to read the book in biliterate and trilingual with a read aloud function, alongside with certain built-in interactive games. The i-Pen is now in its fourth edition which has an recording function.

Pan Lloyds pioneered seminars for the Hong Kong Attainment Tests ("HKAT"), and was the first publisher to publish mock exam papers for the HKAT in English, Chinese and Mathematics. The total sales of the three series exceeded 100,000 copies. This great achievement has earned Pan Lloyds a reputation as an expert in assessment materials for public exams.

2008

In 2004, PopularWorld (Beijing) Limited was established in Beijing to develop pre-school education market in Mainland China. In 2008, EPH’s Creative Learning Package was revised to a Mainland China edition, and was renamed Creative Learning Curriculum for Pre-school Children. It was the cornerstone of POPULAR’s entry into the pre-school market in Mainland China.

In December, the inaugural Bookfest@Hong Kong was held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, Wanchai, occupying 61,000 square feet of floor space. POPULAR’s mission was to promote a reading culture and encouraged more people to read through its theme, "One Book One World".

2012

Ichiban Book, the new brand under Kam Pui, focused on the pulse of the community as well as hot topics in the city was established. Our authors are from different industries, and the content is appealing and practical. For example, 第一次下廚就成功!!, the cookbook from the celebrity Joey Leung Cho Yiu’s, and books about a pet star, 我係尖東忌廉哥 and 忌廉雞湯, all of which have achieved excellent sales results.

JumpStart Publishers Ltd was set up in July to further enhance POPULAR’s market presence in the supplementary workbook market. JumpStart and Pan Lloyds complemented each other to expand the market share continuously.

2013

POPULAR Hong Kong was awarded the Caring Company by The Hong Kong Council of Social Service, as a recognition of our commitment in corporate social responsibility.

EPH and PEHK launched the e-Smart learning management system. It covered the core subjects including Chinese, English, Mathematics and General Studies, and provided a new interactive experience for the education sector through various teaching and learning tools. At the same time, brand new cross-platform e-textbooks were developed integrating technology and learning to allow schools to remain abreast of the latest e-learning trends.

A & I launched a new primary e-textbook series 數碼教育新世代 for IT in schools to help students equip themselves with the IT knowledge necessary to face the challenges of the new digital age.

EduSmart Learning Centres ("EduSmart") was incorporated. With innovative, flexible and interactive teaching concepts and methodologies. EduSmart offers the kind of pre-schools and primary Mathematics and English courses which cultivated a new generation of first-rate students. EduSmart is also incorporating e-learning resources into its courses to ensure that every student can enjoy learning with improved academic results.

2014

Manpower training and development is the core part of our company culture. In 2014, POPULAR was honoured as a Manpower Developer under the Employees Retraining Board’s Manpower Developer Award Scheme.

With the full support from PEHK, EPH launched the kindergarten electronic learning platform KiddieWorld. The platform further evolved as a cross-platform system that led a new trend for online learning for pre-schoolers.

POPULAR Taiwan launched a new brand "Polis Press" that published children's books to explore the education market in Taiwan. It also set a new milestone for the publishing business of POPULAR Taiwan. Among all, the "X Series" was well received and became the best-selling children books in Taiwan.

2015

In September 2015, POPULAR established the first CBeebies English Learning Centre in Pudong Shanghai that opened a brand new page for POPULAR's education business.

Seashore published the "Best of the Best" cookbook series which the sales volume reached 100,000 copies in Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore. It formed the prologue to the POPULAR regional publishing business.

In 2014, Education Publishing House Limited launched an electronic educational platform - KiddieWorld, and in 2015, it also had a great success that the platform won the "Best Lifestyle (Learning & Living) Bronze Award" in the Hong Kong Information and Communication Technology Awards.

WonderKids Publisher, an affiliate of the Education Publishing House Limited, was established in 2015. It published educational materials and books that matched the interests and abilities of preschool children.

2016

The Education Publishing House Limited stepped into the digital era to meet up with the rising market demands for electronic management system. It provided an electronic educational platform and classroom system to support and reinforce the teaching and management efficiency in schools and by which it further promoted the service standard of the Education Publishing House Limited.

Pan Lloyds won a good reputation in the Hong Kong Book Fair and was honoured as the "Top 10 Booths of Hong Kong Book Fair"

2017

EduSmart Learning Centre ("EduSmart") received the Smart Parents' Choice - Brand Awards from the Smart Parents (a journal in Hong Kong with the highest circulation) for two consecutive years. Its distinctive educational method was well received by parents.

In 2016, Pan Lloyds Publishers received the "Hong Kong Famous Brands" for the first time and was also the first-ever local publisher that received the award. This achievement further fortified the POPULAR Group as the leading company among the industry. Since then, Pan Lloyds still stands out from the rest and received the award for five consecutive years.

KiddieWorld won the "Top 10 Meritorious Websites" presented by the Office for Film, Newspaper and Article Administration.

Educational Publishing House Limited launched the eph Mall, a brand new online shopping platform for parents and customers to enjoy a prestigious and convenient shopping experience.

2018

EduSmart was honoured with the "Mother Award" presented by TVB Weekly, being the favourite learning centre among the mothers.

2019

POPULAR US published the first supplementary workbook series "365 Fun Days". Along with the evergreen products of POPULAR Canada, POPULAR officially entered the US market.

2020

As the rent among the retail industry was rising steadily, it made the retail business fall into a tough situation, and to make things more difficult, social unrest and pandemic happening in Hong Kong made the situation even worse. In March 2020, the management decided to terminate the retail business in Hong Kong and allocated our resources to focus on our growing non-retail business. On 18 March 2020, POPULAR Hong Kong decided to terminate the retail business in Hong Kong.

Pan Lloyds Publishers revamped the online shopping platform "Pan Lloyds • JumpStart PP Parents Club", it provides members with comprehensive education information, education activity and membership shopping discounts. The numbers of our members and the sales increased over 3 times when compared with the time before our revamp.

In May 2020, Smart English Company Limited ("Smart English") started to publish children's book series, and in July, it launched an online store verypopularstore.com, featuring its very own publication Robin Education and leisure reading under Kam Pui.

EduSmart Learning Centre renamed as Popular Learning and our franchising business began. During the same year, with the fame of the brand POPULAR, the Group recruited our first 10 alliances of Popular Learning.

关爱这个城市

以教育传承知识文化

这个城市,我们关心爱护。关心教育,正是为了把智慧及经验传给下一代,因此我们以这份关爱及专业精神,为他们创造高素质的教学资源,配合完善的运营网络,提供与时俱进的教学模式。我们精益求精,积极发展三大主要业务,在零售、教育和出版方面都获得良好口碑,成为首屈一指的教育集团,为未来创建教育基地,传承知识文化,同时注入创新思维。

我们的使命

大众集团扎根香港逾70年,一直致力于为香港学童提供高素质的教育服务。主要业务包括教育、出版及相关零售。

集团为师生出版优质教材、教辅、应试练习、电子读本、教育平台资源及各类书籍,启发学童全面发展。集团更全面拓展教育中心服务,以出版业务在香港教育的深厚经验,结合丰富的教学资源,融入与时俱进的电子教学模式,专注于提升香港学童的学习成效。

我们近年还积极发展电子零售平台,推动知识文化传承,同时为学界注入创新思维,全方位担当提高教育服务素质的角色,带领全港学童一同开拓未来。

里程碑

1949

香港世界出版社(简称「世社」)成立。初期主要向东南亚市场供应华文图书。 五十年代后期,世社于香港干诺道中六十号四楼设立了出版部门,出版生活杂志、儿童杂志和中文图书。

1950

教育出版社成立,以出版学前和小学教材为主,也出版儿童图书、中小学公开考试的应试练习、学前和小学教辅、暑期作业等。1960年,教育出版社注册为有限公司。

海滨图书公司(简称「海滨」)于香港干诺道中五十六号四楼成立,最初出版的是一系列《海滨小说丛》期刊,开创了言情小说的新潮流。

1960年,海滨出版《妇女与家庭》半月刊,成为当时香港和东南亚最受欢迎的女性杂志,每期最高销量超过十万册。

1961

育材书店成立,负责销售教育出版社的所有出版物,后来易名为育才书店。

1963

世社为香港小学生出版《好儿童画报》半月刊,内容丰富多彩,更设有读者园地,鼓励孩子写作投稿。

1970

香港大众收购了位于中环太子大厦一百十五号的夏利士书店(简称「夏利士」),专门售卖英文图书。1983年再于一百十号店铺开设另一家夏利士,更兼售卖文具。

1973

1973年,海滨与电视企业有限公司合作出版全港第一本彩色中文食谱──《珍馐百味》,每期销量高达十万册。

1974

香港大众首家零售店以「香港世界出版社」名义于铜锣湾波斯富街二十四号开办。两年后迁往同街一百二十号。

1976

金培企业有限公司(简称「金培」)成立,世社和海滨均成为金培旗下的出版及发行品牌。七十年代中期,世社和海滨继续出版大量图书,前者包括各类型的休闲及实用书籍,后者除《妇女与家庭》半月刊外,以烹饪、星座书为主。

1981

香港大众总部由北角七姊妹道东建工厂大厦搬往荃湾德士古道荃湾工业中心现址。当时公司只有数十人,办公室连货仓面积约为两万两千六百平方英尺。后来日渐扩大。到2021年,香港大众于荃湾工业中心的员工总人数高达五百多人,总面积超过九万九千平方英尺。

1988

于沙田铁路大厦开设世社门市,香港大众旗下第一家售卖影音产品的品牌CD Rama也在此诞生。

1989

教育出版社出版首套《幼儿园教材套》,大受欢迎,市场占有率高达百分之七十。教育出版社在学前教育出版界的领导地位,至今仍巍然屹立,实奠基于此。

1990

世社出版的英语会话袖珍本和海滨出版的「26周」系列小学中、英、数教辅书均十分畅销,「26周」系列已成为最高销量教辅系列,至今仍深受学界及家长欢迎。

香港大众开始以金培旗下的宇宙出版社品牌,出版玄学、星座、生肖等命理类图书。

1991

香港大众的书店业务扩展至屋邨商场,第一家设于何文田爱民商场。

1992

为统一新加坡、马来西亚和香港的书店商号,集团旗下所有书店易名为「大众书局」。

1995

大众书局在红磡黄埔花园开设全港首家最大型的一站式休闲书店──大众文化城,面积达四万四千平方英尺。于1996年12月开业的一万三千平方英尺美食广场,采用的是在当时非常前卫的休闲书店概念。

1998

乐思教育出版有限公司(简称「乐思」)成立,以出版优质教辅为使命,全力开拓香港及澳门市场。

大众书局于1991年开始,曾将业务扩展至屋邨商场,高峰时期屋邨商场店铺多达十八家。于1998年开始进入一线商场,首家开业于沙田新城市广场,第二家则在旺角新世纪广场。

2000

教育出版社的澳门办事处正式成立,致力于编订更适合澳门的学前和小学教材,更积极将集团产品推广至当地学校。

大众电子教学(香港)有限公司(简称「香港大众电子教学」)成立,为教育出版社及乐思的出版物设计并提供完备的电子教学方案。

2001

大众书局配合零售业务发展,推出网上书店。

2004

教育出版社同时推出两套常识课本《今日常识新领域》和《今日新常识》,进一步巩固教育出版社在小学市场举足轻重的地位。

2005

教育出版社于2003年正式成立英文出版部,并于2005年推出《Step Up》和《My Pals are Here! English for Hong Kong》。这是自八十年代中后,教育出版社首次重新投入小学英文教材市场,从而使公司成为小学教材最齐备的出版社。

2006

香港大众电子教学为教育出版社推出的《幼儿生活图解字典》,配以具点读功能的i-Pen聪明笔,提供两文三语以真人发声的语音播放内容,并内置互动游戏功能。现在i-Pen聪明笔已发展至第四代,兼具录音功能。

乐思为首间举办「中一入学前香港学科测验」讲座的出版社,并推出《「中一入学前香港学科测验」模拟试卷》系列,中、英、数三科共售出超过十万册,成绩斐然,并使乐思成为出版公开考试教辅的佼佼者。

2008

2004年大众集团于北京成立北京大众世纪文化有限公司,计划在内地幼教市场大展拳脚。2008年教育出版社的《创意学习套》被修订为内地版,名为《幼儿创意学习课程》,成为大众打开内地幼教市场的重要钥匙。

于香港湾仔会议展览中心举办了首届圣诞书展(Bookfest@HongKong),占地六万一千平方英尺。大众书局以推动阅读文化为宗旨,通过「一书一世界」的理念,鼓励市民阅读。

2012

金培旗下创立文化品牌一丁,其出版路线紧贴社会脉搏,聚焦城市热点。作者来自不同领域,内容丰富兼具实用价值,例如演艺界名人梁祖尧的食谱《第一次下厨就成功!!》、以宠物明星「忌廉哥」为题材的《我系尖东忌廉哥》和《忌廉鸡汤》等等,屡获骄人成绩。

为进一步开拓大众集团在教辅市场的版图,跃思教育出版社于七月成立,与乐思做双线平行发展,务求持续扩大市场占有率。

2013

香港大众获香港社会服务联会颁发「商界展关怀」嘉许状,表扬大众在企业社会责任方面的卓越表现。

香港大众电子教学与教育出版社推出跨平台「eSmart学习管理系统」,涵盖中、英、数、常各主科内容,并配以一系列「学与教工具」,为学界提供互动学习新体验;同期也开发崭新的跨平台电子教材,融合科技和学习,带领学校走在电子学习的最前端。

毅恒教育推出全新的小学信息科技电子教材──《数码教育新世代》,培育学生装备自己,以丰富的信息科技知识迎接新数字时代的挑战。

育才精英教育中心(英文简称 “EduSmart”)成立。通过创新、灵活及互动的教学理念和教学法为幼儿园及小学生提供数学和英文课程,培育他们成为社会的精英。此外,育才将会把电子学习资源纳入课程中,让每位学生都能享受更愉快而有效的学习。

2014

香港大众以人才培养和发展作为公司其中一个重要的核心文化。2014年香港大众荣获雇员再培训局人才企业嘉许计划下的「人才企业」奖。

教育出版社在香港大众电子教学的全力支持下,推出幼儿园电子学习平台KiddieWorld,功能进一步扩展至跨平台操作,带领幼儿网上学习新潮流。

台湾大众正式推出「大邑文化」品牌,出版儿童图书,不但为台湾大众本地图书出版树立新的里程碑,更开拓了学校市场。其中,「X系列」深受市场欢迎,成为台湾最畅销儿童系列书之一。

2015

2015年9月,大众于上海浦东开设了首间「思贝斯英语学习中心」(CBeebies English Learning Centre),为大众教育业务打开了新一页。

海滨出版烹饪书系列「食尽天下」,其总销量在香港、马来西亚及新加坡市场达十万册,标志着大众区域性出版的开始。

教育出版社于2014年推出的电子教学平台KiddieWorld备受肯定,于2015年获得香港资讯及通讯科技奖「最佳生活(学习与生活)铜奖」。

童乐园教育出版社于2015年正式成立,隶属教育出版社有限公司旗下,专业出版配合学前儿童的兴趣和能力的教材及图书。

2016

鉴于市场对电子系统及管理的需求增加,教育出版社正式踏入数字时代,提供电子教学平台及课堂系统,以支持和增强学校教学和管理的成效,进一步提升教育出版社的服务水平。

乐思于香港书展的展位广受欢迎,被媒体誉为“香港书展十大最佳展位”之一。

2017

育才精英教育中心(英文简称 “EduSmart”) 连续两年获得由全港发行量最大的「亲子王」颁发「幼儿综合教育大奖」Smart Parents’ Choice - Brand Awards。独特的教学方法,获得家长的大力支持。

乐思出版社于2016年首次荣获「香港最受欢迎品牌奖」,是首间本地出版社获得此奖项,进一步巩固了大众集团在行业中的领导地位。其后连续5年,乐思仍能在众多出版社中突围而出,蝉联殊荣。

KiddieWorld 荣获由电影、报刊及物品管理办事处颁发的「十大优秀网站」殊荣。

教育出版社推出eph MALL全新网上购物平台,为家长及客户提供优越便利的购物服务。

2018

EduSmart在《TVB周刊》 母亲至爱品牌中荣获 「母亲至爱教育中心」 奖。

2019

美国大众出版首本教辅系列 “365 Fun Days”。连同加拿大大众的长青产品,大众集团正式进军美国市场。

2020

鉴于零售业租金持续上涨,令零售业务经营困难,加上社会动荡和疫情爆发,使经济环境变得更加严峻,管理层决定于2020年3月停止在香港的零售业务,将我们的资源集中在不断增长的非零售业务上。香港大众于2020年3月18日决定在香港停办零售业务。

乐思出版社全面更新网上购物平台「乐思.跃思PP家长会」,为会员提供一站式教育信息、教育活动和会员购物优惠。会员人数和销售额在更新后同比增加超过3倍。

2020年5月,尖子英语有限公司 (英文简称 “Smart English”) 正式出版幼儿系列图书;并于同年7月,开设网上销售商店verypopularstore.com,主要销售其出版系列《Robin Education》及金培旗下品牌的休闲书籍。

「育才教育中心」正式改名为「大众教室」,并正式开展特许经营业务。同年,集团透过大众品牌,成功招揽首十名「大众教室」加盟商。